Politically Correct???

Politically Correct?? magnify

This isn’t part of the new series, but I had to put it up. This article was brought to my attention. I will comment on it below.

First Jell-O, now Santa

OAK LAWN | School district considers banning traditions seen as offensive to Muslims

September 28, 2007

So long, Halloween parade. Farewell, Santa’s gift shop.

The holiday traditions are facing elimination in some Oak Lawn schools this year after complaints that the activities are offensive, particularly to Muslim students.

Final decisions on which of the festivities will be axed will fall to the principals at each of Ridgeland School District 122’s five schools, Supt. Tom Smyth said.

Parents expect that the announcement is going to add to the tension that has been building since officials agreed earlier this month to change the lunch menu to exclude items containing pork to accommodate Muslim students. News that Jell-O was struck from the menu caused such a stir that officials have agreed to bring it back. Gelatin is often made with tissue or bones of pigs or other animals.

That controversy now appears to have been been dwarfed by the holiday debate, which became so acrimonious Wednesday that police were called to Columbus Manor School to intervene in a shouting match among parents.

“It’s difficult when you change the school’s culture,” said Columbus Manor Principal Sandy Robertson.

Elizabeth Zahdan, a mother of three District 122 students, says she took her concerns to the school board this month, not because she wanted to do away with the traditions, but rather to make them more inclusive. “I only wanted them modified to represent everyone,” she said.

Nixing them isn’t the response she was looking for. “Now the kids are not being educated about other people,” she said.

There’s just not time in the six-hour school day to celebrate every holiday, said Smyth, who sent the message to principals that they need to “tone down” the activities that he sees as eating too much into instructional time. “We have to think about our purpose,” Smyth said. “Are we about teaching reading, writing and math or for parties or fund-raising during the day?”

Robertson is hoping to strike compromises that will keep traditions alive and be culturally acceptable to all students — nearly half of whom are of Arab descent at Columbus Manor, she says. Fewer than a third of students district wide are of Arab descent, according to Smyth.

Following the example of Lieb Elementary School, Columbus Manor School will exchange the annual Halloween parade for a fall festival next month. The holiday gift bazaars at both schools also will remain, but they’ll likely be moved to the PTA-sponsored after-school winter festival. And Santa’s annual visit probably will be on a Saturday.

I have seen some really stupid things going on in our public schools of late, and I am getting really sick of it. For instance, doing away with kick ball, we can’t have any of our kids getting hurt now can we.

First let me say, I think that different religions should be accommodated to a certain degree. There should be options in food choice for Jewish and Muslim students. The same way that peanuts have been removed in order to keep allergic students safe. But, you can’t discriminate against other students either. If the school in question can’t provide different food choices, then students with special food requirements can bring a bag lunch.

We have seen all kinds of things REMOVED, from the public square because of the ACLU’s war on Christmas. God forbid we have a nativity scene ANYWHERE. But it’s alright to have Muslim stuff or Jewish stuff. How is that any different than Christian stuff??

In my humble opinion, it should be all inclusive or nothing. It seems we have gone with a knee-jerk reaction. We are so concerned with showing understanding to one religion that we have omitted every other religion and I don’t think its right.

And to my Muslim readers, before you jump down my throat, you know I have done my best to be inclusive here. And to show that all Muslims do not believe in the terrorist ideology.

We, or they, (the schools amongst others), have gone so politically correct, that it has become ridiculous. A lot of Christian parents don’t like Halloween, but never tried to change the schools decoration or celebration. Same with the Easter bunny, which has absolutely nothing to do with Easter, I have no clue where it even came from.

I can tell you this…Many Christian parents have decided to either home school or place their kids in private Christian schools. INSTEAD, of calling on every school to meet their needs in regards to their religion. Some are trying to revisit prayer in school. Many see the failure of our kids, to be directly associated with removing prayer from school. And as far as what I believe, I have to agree.

There are many other things that have been removed from school which I find beyond explanation. When I was a kid we said the pledge of allegiance everyday. We were taught many patriotic songs that we sang on a daily basis. Patriotism was a big thing. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think that is something that is being taught in our schools anymore.

What is wrong with teaching our kids to be proud of their country?? What is wrong with teaching our children the 10 Commandments?? What is wrong with teaching our children the reason for the season??

We should be sensitive to other people’s religion and needs, but not at the cost of everyone else. If we can’t include every religion, we shouldn’t be including any. It’s the basic principle of fair play.

I’m sure that there will be people who are not understanding what I am trying to say here. It has been my experience so far, that everyone reads with their own personal beliefs in mind, then they see something different than what I am saying.

This country was founded and developed under Judeo/Christian beliefs. I’m sure you have heard that plenty, especially around Christmas. If you pay attention to the news, you can plainly see that there IS a war on Christmas. Based on the fact that we were/are a Christian/Judeo nation…that should be consideration when it comes to Christmas. I for one, am really sick of ‘politically correct’.

It is things like the article above that makes people prejudiced against Islam in general. And you can see what I think of it. When you look at nations that were/are based on being founded and developed under Islam, its plain to see how they base their schools and holidays. Even though we are America and based on freedom and freedom of religion. Why do we need to change what our country was based on, when Muslim country’s don’t??

I would like to ask our Muslim Americans their opinion on this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Politically Correct???”

  1. cerebate Says:

    Hmm
    Ive actually found celebrating different religious festivals to be a good thing. My catholic friend’s mother used to to invite us over to help decorate the tree and bake chocolate cake and marzipan etc, so Christmas was something us non christians looked forward to and yes we had santa claus in school too. The muslim’s in our building distributed kheer for ramazan and the hindu distributed sweets for diwali and it helped rather than harmed.

    The version of political correctness of for e.g. referring to Christmas as winter holidays is just plain silly.

    However i do disagree with
    “What is wrong with teaching our children the 10 Commandments”
    Other than checking each and every one of the commandments for clearing(thou shalt not kill ..only humans and except in self defense or perhaps in times of war) of ambiguity and deleting objectionable content (for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, punishing children for the iniquity of parents)
    the teaching of religion in school is still wrong in my opinion, i think religion should be taught at home. Its quite different however to inform children what festivals are celebrated and why.

  2. Eagle Says:

    The bottom line is, it’s not being equal. That’s one of the reasons I have a problem with it.

  3. cerebate Says:

    Oh i agree with that.
    I’d rather they celebrated a few festivals together rather than bothering about one festival of each religion.

  4. shiva Says:

    I’m adamant for outlawing Islam.

    If you look to “moderate” Muslims for help then what you are doing is dangerous? You will be accepting Islam; giving validation to a false religion. Thus strengthening the radicals hand

  5. salahudin Says:

    I think Muslims should celebrate christmas, halloween and all the other traditions in the country they live in…

    not as a forced thing… but that they should do more to integrate in to society, which REQUIRES “compromises” like partaking in the festivities of the culture in which they live.

    i agree that they should be forced to eat food they don’t want to eat, nor clothe themselves according to our opinion… when i say they SHOULD participate in christmas etc, it’s on secular and SOCIAL grounds, not religious ones.

    hell, as an atheist… i LOVE CHRISTMAS!!!! it’s nice and cold, with warm chocolate mugs, everyone who isn’t shopping and driving near christmas time is loving and cheery… the atmosphere is crackling with excitement… i just adore the season! 🙂

    EGGNOG! WOOT!!!!!!!!! hahah

    I also used to enjoy Eid, until muslims started being judgmental about my decision to DISAGREE with their theology and beliefs. I find (honestly speaking!) American Christians WAY more open to my participation in christmas festivities (probably because they’re so open to welcoming immigrants in to the nation that they don’t automatically frown on a person of different color… at least not in christmas season… usually…)

    Muslims on Eid… well… they’re still nice etc… but they’re not as warming towards apostates.

    hmm… now that i think about it… that’s pretty understandable, considering that my ideological dissent is a threat to their beliefs… which it isn’t to christians (not as dramatically anyways…)

    anyhow… sorry i just got lost in my thoughts there. thanks for letting me speak out aimlessly. lol.

  6. Eagle Says:

    Salahudin,

    You are always welcome here to speak aimlessly or other wise. 😀 Thanks for your input.

    Shiva,
    Your obviously not an American. Which is good, personally the least of your type in my nation the better.

    I cherish my freedom to choose my religion and to worship.

    Many complain about Muslim nations not allowing Christian worship, that is just as bad as what you said.

    There are some who think that religion is the cause of all the violence in the world and that ALL religion should be outlawed. Those are people who have no religion to begin with, so they have no concept about what true religion, or belief in God is all about.

    So where would you draw the line, just Islam? Or what?? What other religion do you consider to be a ‘false’ religion??

    Since that is the criteria you laid out in your comment, that Islam was a false religion, what isn’t a false religion in your eyes??

  7. shiva Says:

    Your obviously not an American. Which is good, personally the least of your type in my nation the better.

    I cherish my freedom to choose my religion and to worship.

    You have the luxury to cherish your religion.

    Where I live just now people get killed because of their choice of religion.

    So where would you draw the line, just Islam? Or what?? What other religion do you consider to be a ‘false’ religion??

    Unfortunately there’s some confusion over who the One True God actually is. Christians believe one thing, Muslims another, and the Jewish faith is different yet again.

    It seems that Christians, Jews, Muslims, Protestants, Catholics, and Seventh-Day Jehovah’s Mormons all devoutly worship the same Supreme Being.

    But the devil is in the details and, apart from confessing their devotion to the One True God, they can’t agree on anything else.

    Which is very sad as this has caused a lot of wars, unnecessary pain and suffering.

    Whether in business or religion, monopolies can be a very bad thing. Monotheism seems to bring out the worst in some people.

    Polytheism, with its acceptance of many Gods and multiple beliefs, is not only more friendly and more fun, it’s safer too.

  8. in2thefray Says:

    Eagle you cover to much in your follow up to the story. As for the story it seems the “complainer” was never of the position to have the outcome. That reminds me of the Muslims that spoke in support of the English girl who was being disciplined secondary to wearing a “Silver Ring”
    As an American who has so little respect for the ability of the education system I find it laughable that the religious among us want the school to teach “values. Be it Judeo-Christian or supporting Islamic cultural values we’re talking about a system that screws up teaching elementary mathematics.
    In schools I think the best you can hope for is the honest exchange of ideas. Sharing things. But in the “short 6 hours” the schools should try to get the basics down. Multiculturalism is good when it’s honest. Unfortunately it all to often downspins to exclusion of one thing for another. Last quick example w/ apologies for length. In to many places you can’t say Christmas outside of the commercial,good tiding setting. Hanukah and Kwanzaa somehow escapes that.

  9. Eagle Says:

    in2thefray,

    No problem with length, others have gone a lot longer. 😀

    I’m not sure what your complaint is with my opinion on the subject. It is my personal opinion after seeing change after change and of some religious stuff being accepted and others not. That is why I said that if you can’t include all, you shouldn’t include any.

    On my other blog I had a good answer from a Muslim in Canada, I will post part of it below:

    “I agree that it is wrong. This is as if I, a vegetarian, went to a friend’s house for dinner and told them I was offended by the gravy and meat on their plates and to serve us all cheese instead. I would never be invited to their house again. That is only common sense. What is missing here is common sense and decency.”

    The fact is that schools have stopped teaching the basic’s of reading, writing, and arithmetic; And instead have turned our schools into training grounds for liberals. I can’t tell you how many stories I have heard about liberal politics being taught to captive students with no other side being taught or shown. I have a problem with that on several different levels.

    It’s been a while since I was in school, but I don’t remember any of this stuff being force fed in any grade. And now they start in grade school. Save teaching politics for 11th grade Government or college. And always give both sides of the argument.

    So, I’m sure I covered more than just this article, but it is also the first time I wrote on this subject. In time I may come back to it. But for now, its on to the new topic.

  10. onemorecup Says:

    Eagle:

    I have the distinct pleasure of admitting that you were by far the first of the blogosphere to be on this one. Your article was one of the most reasoned, well thought out, and presented arguments I’ve seen in a long time. And when I see those kinds of stimulating thoughts put into context…your article should have been syndicated by AP or Reuters.

    Absolutely loved it! NO! It was not too long; anyway, I would be honored to add you to my blogroll insofar as the majority of commentary here needs to be shared. Please come on over to onemorecup.wordpress.com and see how you’ve been heralded!

    Let me know! Cheers mate!

    OMC

  11. Eagle Says:

    Onemorecup,

    Thanks 😀 I always like compliments, especially after being battered about by others. Add away, and I will do the same, one can never have too many friends. 😀

  12. retro Says:

    Hard to believe Christmas is already around the corner. I am ready for some Thanksgiving turkey though.


Leave a Reply

